The Immutable God

26 05 2014

Remote ControlI would like to define the word “immutable” for you in such a way that you will never forget. In fact, you will remember it from now on, every time you pick up your television remote control. The word “immutable” used to be a difficult concept for me to understand. The light came on for me when I thought of it in modern usage. Let’s face it. Nobody uses the word “immutable” in daily conversation. Then I remembered my TV remote control. What is your favorite button on your remote control? When I preach this message, I ask the congregation to respond. Some simply like the “ON-OFF” button. Others like the channel changers; but most people agree with me. My favorite remote control button is the “MUTE” button. It is so convenient. It seems to give me a sort of power; yes, control over the television! If I don’t like listening to a commercial, I just push the “MUTE” button and I don’t have to listen. Don’t you agree? Even if you prefer the on/off button or the channel changer button, you can see my point. There is a definite sense of control over what you see and hear. Our problem is that we live our lives as though God were a great cosmic broadcast that we could tune in/tune out: turn on/turn off; change or mute at our own whim with our trusty little remote control device. Many people don’t like what God says or does. We don’t want to listen to His voice, so we try everything to mute Him; but sooner or later we learn. YOU CAN’T MUTE GOD He is immutable! We try to make Him fit into a box. We try to change the message to something more to our liking, but it is impossible. He is unchangeable. He is in control. James 1:17 says: “with whom there is no variation or shadow of turning.” Malachi 3:6 quotes the Lord “For I am the Lord, I do not change;” and that great verse in Hebrews 13.8: “Jesus Christ is the same yesterday, today, and forever.” GOD IS IMMUTABLE!

The apostle Paul spoke this principle in another context. “Therefore, when I was planning this, did I do it lightly? Or the things I plan, do I plan according to the flesh, that with me there should be Yes, Yes, and No, No? But as God is faithful, our word to you was not Yes and No. For the Son of God, Jesus Christ, who was preached among you by us – by me, Silvanus, and Timothy – was not Yes and No, but in Him was Yes. For all the promises of God in Him are Yes, and in Him Amen, to the glory of God through us” (I Cor.1:17-20). Not only does Paul confirm the principle of God’s truthfulness and faithfulness, but he also declares that ALL of God’s promises are still YES in Jesus!

Therefore, we see that God has in fact promised to restore the land of Israel, and that this is not a conditional or temporary promise, but He will continue to bring it to pass even to a thousand generations and will fulfill it through Jesus to the end times. The trustworthiness of its fulfillment does not depend on any people, past, present or future, but on the nature of the immutable God with whom it is impossible to lie. So if this God of truth raises His hand to signify the earnestness of His heart-given promise, we had better believe He means it and will do exactly as He says. We cannot mute God!       GOD IS FAITHFUL!

(This excerpt is from Chapter One of my first book, Prophesy To The Land!)

Les Lawrence, Voice of Christian Zionists      (READ MORE)


Actions

Information

2 responses

26 05 2014
Russell Thomas

Nice teaching, Les! You are right. I will always understand immutable from now on!

Like

28 05 2014
Sheep and Goat Nations | Elisha Vision - Commentary

[…] Les Lawrence, Voice of Christian Zionists       (READ MORE) […]

Like

Leave a comment